College Info


Housatonic Community College is one of 12* regional community colleges in Connecticut. Each serves specific geographic areas and each offers some specialized degree and certificate programs.

The system was established under Public Act 330 enacted in 1965 and amended in 1989 when the separate community college and technical college systems were merged. In July 2011, one governing board, the Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education, was established for all community colleges and state universities.

*Currently, the community colleges are: Asnuntuck (Enfield), Capital (Hartford), Gateway (New Haven), Housatonic (Bridgeport), Manchester (Manchester), Middlesex (Middletown), Naugatuck Valley (Waterbury), Northwestern (Winsted), Norwalk (Norwalk), Quinebaug Valley (Danielson), Three Rivers (Norwich), and Tunxis (Farmington).

Currently, the state universities are: Central Connecticut (New Britain), Eastern Connecticut (Willimantic); Southern Connecticut (New Haven), and Western Connecticut (Danbury).

Housatonic's Administrative Officers:

The Interim President: Ms. Elizabeth G. Roop
The Acting Dean of Academic Affairs: Ms.Rebecca Adams
The Dean of Administration: Mr. Ralph T. Tyler
The Dean of Community Outreach: Ms. Denise Bukovan
The Acting Dean of Students: Mr. James Connolly